Guest Post: Kitty Wilson, author of The Cornish Village School, on breaking your rules

Posted June 23rd 2018 by The Faerie Queen in Blog Tours, Guest Posts, Reviews / 0 Comments

Guest Post: Kitty Wilson, author of The Cornish Village School, on breaking your rules

Hi everyone! We have a special guest post for you from Kitty Wilson, author of The Cornish Village School!

Before we dive in to Kitty’s great post on why you should break your own rules, let’s quickly explain why you should pick up this book pronto, especially at only £1.99!

This was such a cute and fluffy read, but then it is summer time, meaning the time for beach reads is upon us! Both Rosy and Matt were fun characters, so nice with just enough saltiness to give them flavour. And they were so perfect together, with light, easy banter mixed with adorable awkwardness here and there. As for the setting, Kitty gave Cornwall an almost magical air, painting a picture of calm beauty. I can understand why people would flock to the area during the holidays if the way Kitty portrayed the area is accurate. I read the whole thing with a smile on my face while plotting my own trip to Cornwall!

Divider

Break your rules!

Rules are sets of mutually understood principles that we live our lives according to, for the overall wellbeing of society and ourselves. It is generally considered to be a good thing to follow the rules, I’m particularly keen on the big ones – it’s not okay to kill people or do intentional harm. Rules and regulations that keep my family and loved ones safe are good with me – let’s not drive at 150 miles per hour down a twisty country lane.

I have not always been a rule-follower – headstrong was a word used a lot as I was growing up (always seem to apply that to the girls, don’t they?)  – and to this day I struggle with some. But, by and large, rules keep everything ticking along nicely and everyone knows where they are.

We tend to develop our own sets of rules as we get older, as well as following the laws of the land. I like to have matching underwear for example (I blame my mother and her constant talk of ambulances) and if you invite me to dinner and still haven’t fed me by midnight I consider this a breach of the unspoken rules and get a little testy.

Often our rules are a mishmash of what our own moral code dictates and what is obviously right and wrong. They can be big and small and are often personal to us. I had a particularly stupid self-imposed one about jewellery when I was in my early thirties and would turn the car around if I had mismatched it. Embarrassing now and the sense of liberation I felt when I just stopped one day was immense. And that is a key reason to break our own rules – the little silly ones at least; the sense of freedom gained, of restriction being lifted when we dare to break from routine. The children won’t suddenly keel over and die if we stay out a little later than usual and they don’t get their dinner at six on the dot. The sky won’t fall in if we have a chocolate bar and a doughnut for breakfast once in a while. But the way our life can be enriched by that extra half an hour on the beach, or just by lifting the relentless everyday ‘meh’ by doing something we perceive as a little naughty, is priceless. Break those rules regularly! It makes you feel so much better.

The world is full of change bought about by people willing to break the rules, to champion causes outside the societal norm. If the suffragettes hadn’t broken the rules repeatedly, with courage and with verve, would we still be waiting on men’s approval before we could do anything? Shudder.

Look at those women who have led the way in so many different fields – Marie Curie, Joan of Arc, Rosa Parks, let’s not pretend that they didn’t jump up and down on the rules and smash them into itty-bitty bits. They shaped the world they lived in for future generations and gave permission for those following to also break the rules, push the boundaries and continue to make progress.

In The Cornish Village School Rosy Winter is a women who has come up with a firm rule to help her feel safe as she navigates through life. We all do this, it’s understandable. However, Rosy’s rigidity around it means that by keeping her rule she is missing out on the chance to change her life for the better. Matt is perfect for her, the readers can see it, her colleagues can see it, but Rosy will not break her rule. She ends up making far more of a fool of herself than she would have done if she had just snogged him in the first place. It’s a romance, it’s no great spoiler to say that Rosy eventually gets her perfect match, but only because she finally let’s go of her insecurities and breaks the damn rule!

So why should we break our own rules? Because as long as you keep the universally agreed biggies and exercise general good judgement, being bold enough to shake off tradition leads to progress and freedom. It can be as simple as lightening your own mood, grabbing and revelling in the joy of a moment or as big as developing penicillin or building or representing a movement. Breaking your own rules represents an escape from the norm, and we all need an escape sometimes.  Trying something different, as long as it doesn’t harm others, is how to keep life fresh and bright and joyful. It stops us from restricting ourselves and opens up our eyes to all sorts of different possibilities, ones we may never even have dreamt of. Go, dance in the rain, eat lots of cake, stay out super late and have fun with life.

Divider

About the book

The Cornish Village School - Breaking the Rules

Guest Post: Kitty Wilson, author of The Cornish Village School, on breaking your rulesAuthor: Kitty Wilson
Series: Cornish Village School #1
Publisher: Canelo
Release date: June 11th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 265
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley

I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Add to TBR: Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon UK | Amazon US | iBooks | Kobo

By using some of the above links, you're helping to support the running of LiatoF. Thank you!

Star rating:
Heat rating: two-flames

Rosy Winter is definitely not looking for love.

Following heartbreak, Rosy has rebuilt her life in the beautiful Cornish village of Penmenna. Now, headmistress of the local school, she is living by The Rule: no dating anyone in the village. Easy right? But Rosy Winter has a new neighbour, handsome gardener Matt.

In Penmenna for his new gardening TV show, this guy next door will do everything he can to persuade her to break her rule and win her heart. Meanwhile, Penmenna Village School is threatened with closure and it’s up to Rosy to rally the local community and #SaveOurSchool. Can she bring her worlds together and accept help from the most unlikely of sources? One thing’s for sure… she won’t be giving up without a fight.

This heartwarming romance is perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and A. L. Michael.

Divider

About Kitty Wilson

Kitty Wilson has lived in Cornwall for the last twenty-five years having been dragged there, against her will, as a stroppy teen. She is now remarkably grateful to her parents for their foresight and wisdom - and that her own children aren’t as hideous. She spends most of her time welded to the keyboard or hiding out at the beach and has a penchant for very loud music, equally loud dresses and romantic heroines who speak their mind.

Divider

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 410 other subscribers.

Divider

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.